Warning: in_array() expects parameter 2 to be array, null given in /home/customer/www/melissa-burch.com/public_html/wp-content/themes/exposure-parent/theme-includes/includes/sub-includes/featured-content.php on line 313

100 Days of Memoirs to Nourish the Soul for Social Distancing Memoir Bookclub

Social Distancing Memoir Bookclub During Coronavirus Times

100 Days of Memoirs to Nourish the Soul

DAY 26: April 16, 2020

My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker

by Melissa Burch

MEMOIR 2017 SILVER WINNER OF IBPA* BENJAMIN FRANKLIN AWARD • 2016 SILVER Foreword INDIES AWARD WINNER Adventure • For readers of Cheryl Strayed, Martha Beck, and Elizabeth Gilbert • In this adventurous spiritual memoir, Melissa Burch discovers that by facing her near death, living outside her comfort zone and trusting her intuition, she could find herself and set a new course for her life.


*Independent Book Publishers Association Benjamin Franklin Award is regarded as one of the highest honors in the independent publishing field.


“My Journey Through War and Peace: Explorations of a Young Filmmaker, Feminist and Spiritual Seeker” is based on Melissa Burch’s experiences as a war journalist for BBC, CBS, and other networks. Her team was one of the first documentary crews allowed in the Soviet Union at the height of the Cold War, and she was featured in a New York Times story about her time in Afghanistan. She was just in her twenties when she traveled with the mujahideen, filmed an attack on a Soviet convoy, slept with an Afghan commander, and climbed 14,000-foot mountains in the Hindu Kush.


“My Journey Through War and Peace” examines how, through outward action and inward exploration, life can unfold in mysterious ways, far beyond cultural and family expectations. In looking back at this momentous decade, Burch shares why she pursued such dangerous and difficult circumstances at such a young age and continued to live on the edge. She now understands that she was seeking self-discovery, a connection to something greater, and ultimately inner peace. This exciting memoir will resonate with fans of “Eat Pray Love,” “Wild,” and other popular memoirs that describe extraordinary inner and outer journeys.

Yearning for Magic

COPYRIGHT MELISSA BURCH, 2020